On Simplicity

May 17, 2008

Two Ways to Understand Enjoyment

Filed under: Simple Living — Serendipity @ 5:00 am
Tags: , ,

Part of living simply is being able to truly enjoy things.  Without sincere enjoyment, you can never be satiated, and you’ll likely want more. And more. And more.  One of the greatest lessons in enjoyment is one I’ve learned from my husband, and it involves chocolate.

Method #1:The Nibble Savor

Now, I’m the kind of woman who loves to spread out the enjoyment. I want it to last as long as humanly possible. So I nibble. And I savor.  If I get a chocolate bar, I’ll take the tiniest bites possible and roll each little bit over my tongue to fully experience it.  This process takes a long time and helps me to enjoy things mentally as well as on a sensory level.

Method #2: The Shovel

My better half is a shoveler. If given a chocolate bar, he’ll do his absolute best to get all of it in his mouth at once.  A look of bliss crosses his face, and in a flash, the chocolate’s gone.

Trying the Shovel Method of Pleasure

This behavior used to drive me crazy. “We’re trying to be frugal and stretch things out, hon,” I’d say. “Why don’t you take smaller bites and take the time to really enjoy treats?”  His response?  “I enjoy it most when my mouth is absolutely full of it and it takes over all my senses.”

I still didn’t get it.  Finally, I tried it.  Hey, we had a lot of Easter clearance candy given to us, so what could it hurt to “waste” a few items, right?  So I shoveled.  He gave me a shout of approval, a huge smile, and I thoroughly enjoyed the moment.  It felt good to be so reckless with a rare treat.

Experience Abundance

In our efforts to be frugal, sometimes we try too hard to eke enjoyment out of well, anything.  Once in a while, it can feel great to just shovel. You can shovel food, drink, parties, social occasions, books, fun projects, your favorite shows on DVD—lots of things.  In the shovel moment, you’re giving yourself over completely to pleasure—there’s no saving it, or measuring it, or worrying about when it will be gone.  In this sense, an occasional shovel is a great way to feel like you’re surrounded by abundance. 

The next time you’re feeling deprived (or you’d simple like a moment of bliss), try the shovel method.  No counting, measuring, or thinking: just pure sensory overload.  It makes you feel like a kid who’s getting an indulgent wish, and isn’t that the richest feeling of all?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

